Posted in Mommy's Bible Time

Bloom

A couple of months ago I received a bouquet from a sweet friend of the family visiting the island.

I placed the bouquet in a large jar and put my orchids on either side. A lovely centerpiece.

It eventually expired as all bouquets do. As I started to pull it apart to wash the jar, my six-year-old said he wanted to plant the blooms. I humored him, “I’m not sure how many will root, but it is possible, so you’re welcome to try.”

He was so careful as he placed each stem into the ground I’d just tilled for a new garden bed. When he was finished, I proceeded to rinse out the jar with the garden hose.

As I’d expected, the stems eventually turned brown and withered away.

“…The grass withers, And the flower falls off,”

1 Peter‬ ‭1‬:‭24‬ ‭

A couple of weeks later and guess what appeared between pallets by the garden hose?

We will need to replant it once it’s strong enough. I think it gets bushy.

Life’s Garden

In the garden of life, we are often faced with circumstances beyond our control. But just like a flower, we have the remarkable ability to bloom where we’re planted.

“Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”

Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭11‬-‭13‬ ‭

Amidst challenges and uncertainties, we can choose to embrace our surroundings and make the most of our current situation. Whether the soil is fertile or rocky, whether the sun shines brightly or clouds hover overhead, we can find a way to flourish and radiate His unique beauty.

Like a flower that adapts to its environment, we adapt and grow. We can draw strength from within, nourishing our souls with hope, resilience, and a deep trust in God’s providence. He is the ultimate gardener, the designer of all blooms. As we root ourselves in faith, we can bloom with grace and purpose, spreading joy and inspiration to those around us.

I think the species is called an Egyptian Starcluster.

Regardless of the circumstances that initially planted us, we can choose to bloom where we are, making a positive impact and leaving a lasting impression. Let us embrace the journey, recognizing that every moment offers an opportunity to grow, to shine, and to make a difference.

So, May you bloom where you’re planted as you radiate the light and love that God has placed within you.

“Therefore as you have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him, having been firmly rooted and now being built up in Him and established in your faith, just as you were instructed, and overflowing with gratitude.”
‭‭‭‬‬

Colossians‬ ‭2‬:‭6‬-‭7‬

Author:

A Christian wife, mom of three, homesteading, homeschooler in Hawaii who loves all things writing, reading and learning.

Leave a comment