Posted in sight words, Spirited Blessings

Craft Sticks And Sight Words

I hope everyone enjoyed their Independence Day Celebrations!

Last week we focused on sight words.

On Sunday night, I wrote a list of words I want Blueberry Ball to recognize by  the end of the year on Popsicle sticks, one word per stick. I also made some from the word list in Raspberry Bug’s favorite app, Endless Reader by Originator. This way, she could practice words she already recognized and feel involved in the activity.

We could have used printable flashcards, but Raspberry Bug would have had those torn up by the first day. The Popsicle sticks have great durability, and they are just more vibrant and fun.

On Monday, I just let the kids play around with the sticks. They walked them around and made them talk to each other, they turned the sticks into tracks, and even cars. They were able to naturally explore the different words, and Red even tried naming the colors of the sticks at one point. I wanted the sticks to seem more like a fun toy than like a school item. It seemed to work! They played for nearly an hour with the sticks, and I simply called it a full school day after that.

I also took three craft sticks from the package and wrote the phrase “zap it!” on them for Tuesday’s activity.  I found this game idea over at Meaningful Mama.

On Tuesday, we played the “Zap It!”. I only used one “Zap It!” stick and a few of the easier, more familiar sight words to play the game. This was too advanced for Red (two years old) to understand, so I just had her read a stick here and there to stay a part of the fun. But Blue enjoyed the concept for a few minutes. When he got frustrated, we stopped. I don’t want reading to be a source of contention in our home, I want it to be enjoyable.

We repeated this activity for Wednesday, and he did it for a few minutes longer than the first time.

On Thursday, I decided to create a matching game using the same sight word sticks. I spelled some words on a file folder using stickers. I made some in uppercase letters and some in lower case, but I think Blue found the lower case letters to be a lot easier to read. That’s how I wrote them on the sticks and that’s how they are most commonly written. I just simply ran out of lower case stickers. It was, however, good practice in letter and word recognition.

I also found it easier to have him do one side of the folder at a time. He got overwhelmed at first having to look through all the words at the same time.

I love what we’ve done with both the craft sticks and the file folder. I can see using both again in the future. Do you have any more ideas using Popsicle sticks and sight words? I’d love to hear them!

For more sight word activities check out these articles as well:

Sight Word Fun

Sight Word Connect Four And Even More

A special thanks to No Time For Flashcards for their link-up:

rp_link-learn-2014-455x17811.jpg

Leave a Reply

