Posted in Mommy's Bible Time

Love is a Verb

The inspiration for this post came from a poem I wrote for my best friend and soon-to-be spouse at the time.  I picked it up and added a verse or two after the birth of our first child. I hadn’t seen it again until just a few weeks ago when I was looking through some old journals of mine. Now, having been married for six years and bearing two young children, and most importantly since I’ve grown in my relationship and walk with my Lord and Savior, this poem means more to me than ever before. I hope to be able to reveal to you a little about where my heart was then, and where it is now. If you like the poem well enough, I’ve attached a file for you to print it out yourself as a reminder of the many different kinds of love in your life.

At only the age of eighteen I had a lot of confusion about what love actually was. A year earlier I had turned down a sweet young boy’s offer to be his “girlfriend” mostly because he said “I love you” rather early and since I hadn’t shared the same sentiments, it set me on a mission to find out exactly what that kind of love even meant.

It wasn’t until months later when I met my husband-to-be that I truly understood what so many young people my age were trying so desperately to obtain. Rereading this brought up a lot of emotion for me, but surprisingly, my thoughts were not just for my husband this time around. Every aspect of love in my life could boil down to these sentimental paragraphs.

In the era and culture which we live today, it seems that people are removed from feelings and emotions and if we are too loving or compassionate or emotional, there must be something wrong with us. However, the Greeks in Jesus’ day used the word love in their language so much that they had four different words for it. Rather than trying to mull over our many versions of the one English word, I thought I would touch on one of their Greek words.The word Agape. It references spiritual love. It is a selfless and sacrificial love, and it should be the most important kind of love for any Christian to try and master.

1 John 4:8 (English Standard Version) reads:

Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.

God is love. Who is the standard for love? God.

John 3:16 (English Standard Version) reads:

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.

This verse is perhaps the most quoted Bible passage about agape, but what does it mean in context to how we are to act in agape?

John 15:13 (English Standard Version) says:

Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.

I would love to be able to say that if I were put into a position like this, I would do the right thing. Morally speaking as someone outside of this situation, it’s easy to say that yes, I would. However, I think that if some of us were truly put there, we may battle a bit of fear or uncertainty. The Bible speaks to these emotions in terms of agape as well:

John 4:18 (English Standard Version)

There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.

It’s hard for me to imagine a fearless love in an imperfect soul. Even with our family’s small trials I find at times that I doubt my husband’s authority and inspiration. In the tougher times, I find myself doubting my Heavenly Father’s guidance and divine timing. This is all routed in fear, however, and I know from personal past experiences (though it takes longer getting there at some times than others) to cast out those fears and to set my sights on that perfect kind of “agape”.

Love is a verb. It’s not merely a feeling, or a thought or a strong emotion, it is something you actively and consistently do. What should this selfless and sacrificial emulation of God’s eternal agape look like in our Christian walk on earth? The answers are many, and they are not always easy, then again, our standard is perfect. Our standard is Holy. Our standard is Love:

Mark 12:30 (English Standard Version)

And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.

Love Him with all you got!

Matthew 5:43-44 (English Standard Version):

You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.

Love your enemies (I told you the answers weren’t easy).

1 Corinthians 14:4 (English Standard Version)

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant

Love in humility, patients, and kindness.

Romans 12:10 (English Standard Version)

Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor.

Honor one another.

John 21:15-17

When they had finished breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Feed my lambs.” He said to him a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Tend my sheep.” He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was grieved because he said to him the third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep.

“Feed His sheep.” If God is the standard for love, and if we are to love as He loved, how can we walk in love through Him without sharing His love and saving grace?

I had no idea what God had in store for me when I prayed to know what love is. He not only showed me my new family, but he took us on a journey together and showed us… Himself!

Love Is A Verb

It’s something you do

Without an action, it’s easy to lose.

But taking your hand in mine,

Love is easy to find

I can wrap myself in your arms

We’ll keep each other safe and warm

Don’t have a troubled heart,

With love, we’ll never be apart.

Love is a verb.

It’s something you do

Without an action, it’s easy to lose.

So you keep me from aggression

And I’ll keep you from depression,

While with a listening ear

Understand your worries and your fears

Praying for you

In the goals that you pursue

Love is a verb.

It’s something you do

Without an action, it’s easy to lose.

I’ll silence his first cries

This little one with your eyes

And I’ll teach him about you

And the love you taught me to do.

I can let him know

That in love you reap what you sew.

For

Love is a verb.

It’s something you do

Without an action, it’s easy to lose.

To print or download Love is a Verb, click here.

I did not sign this document for aesthetic purposes, so please be respectful and give credit where it is do as it is very close to my heart. It is not intended for any monetary gain whatsoever. Thank you.

Please join me in my prayers to become closer than ever before to the perfect love that God shows me and you every day.

Leave a Reply

