Posted in Home School How-Tos, math, Spirited Blessings

Homeschool How To #6 Addition Ramps

I saw a post on pinterest that led me to a mom who used ramps made out of paper towel tubes and paper cups to create “Adding Fun“.  I’ve been wanting to introduce addition this way for a while, I’ve just been waiting for the right time. Since Blueberry Ball did such a good job with the pumpkin addition game from last Tuesday’s activity box, I thought it was good timing to introduce the topic in a new way.

This coming week is going to be a fire safety theme, so I decided I would make a fire hydrant:

photo(140)

Here’s how I did it:

First, I picked a sturdy cardboard box with a rectangular shape and cut the flaps off of the top and bottom.

photo(141)

I cut holes in the sides for the ramps. Then I added the ramps using paper towel tubes and paper cups. These will be the hoses coming out of the fire hydrant. If you want it to be a bit more realistic than mine, I suggest coming down at more of an angle with the tubes.

Then, I covered my front with red construction paper. Looking back I probably should have used glue or staples because the tape shows more than I would like.

photo(142)

I’ll be adding the top of the hydrant too, so I didn’t have to cover it entirely.

Then, I free-handed the sides.

photo(143)

I allowed room on the ends touching the box to fold the paper over and tape. This way, they automatically popped out.

Then, I drew, cut and taped the top on.

photo(144)

I had to reinforce the back so it didn’t flop back Another option would have been to add the top to the box as well so it could all be one piece. It all depends on how tall you need it to be compared with the size of your box.

Then I added paper to the ramps to make them look more like hoses. I know, I probably should have done that before attaching them. Oh, well.

photo(140)

I added post-it notes to the cups. This will allow for counting and sorting prior to the real game action.

Then, I added a plus sign to the hydrant and an equals sign to a basket on the inside.

photo(145)

I can’t wait to see how he likes it. It sets the mood for the week to come very adequately:

photo(146)

I think I may even add some pre-written post-it notes for him to form his own equations to match.

Leave a Reply

