Posted in Happy Homemaking

Homemade No-Sew Fabric Wall Art On A Dime

We had moved in over a month ago and the walls were still geriatric white. I was tired of it, but there was no room in the budget for home decor at the moment… let’s see what’s left in my dwindling craft supplies…  two old maternity t-shirts, cardboard scraps, and a hot glue gun. … I can MacGyver this one! Here’s how it turned out:

photo(38)photo(22)  photo(40)

Pretty cute if I do say so myself! And I was able to make 2 this size and a smaller one with fabric left over! I’ll have more pictures soon. I used these in our guest bathroom which already had the teal soap dispensers, but you could also use something like this in a nursery or bedroom. Here’s what I did:

  • I cut my cardboard first. For the bigger ones (like in the picture) I made one small square and two larger ones. For the smaller, free-standing one I cut the initial little square along with a strip and square to glue at an “A” shape in the back of it. It ended up looking like a picture frame backing, but I had to use a lot of hot glue to make it hold.

photo(39)

 

  • Then, I cut my fabric. I cut squares without seems to get it as smooth as possible in the back and added 1/2″-1″ extra to fold over and glue. I stretched and smoothed (easy with t-shirt material) as much as possible and hot glued it down. I then hot glued the smaller squares to the bigger ones to make the larger finished product.
  • I then added bows. I made these from the same material so that they would match. Simply fold the material accordion style and add a strip to the middle to hold it together. Then, hot glue. (I love hot glue.)  You could also use ribbon, pre made bows, appliques, or whatever suits your needs.
  • Last but not least, I cut the bottom seems from the maternity shirts and hot glued those on the back forming an arch to hang them on the wall. Again, you could use other material for this, but I used what matched and what I had.

Well, I hope you enjoyed the latest On a Dime tutorial. Leave a comment and let me know what you think, or if you have done any homemade home decor on a dime!

Leave a Reply

